How Long Does Workers’ Comp Last in Georgia?
If you’re injured on the job in Georgia and your employer has three or more employees, it is your right to file a workers’ compensation claim. Even though there’s no monetary amount for physical and mental pain, Georgia law stipulates that eligible individuals are entitled to compensation to cover medical costs, rehabilitation, and lost income.
Questions about your immediate situation as well as your future start running through your mind after an injury on the job. Among them might be how long you’ll be out of work and how long your workers’ compensation benefits will last. There are several factors that determine the duration and amount of your payments.
How long do the benefits last?
Although you have a year to file a workers’ comp claim, you should file one as soon as you are able. Filing soon after the injury not only gets you payment faster, the longer you wait the less strong your claim can be. If you’re unable to work after seven days from the injury then you qualify for weekly benefits. Once you file, you should receive your first payment within 21 days after your first missed day of work. In extreme situations individuals can be granted up to 400 days of benefits.
Factors That Determine Your Benefit’s Duration
The severity of your injury
This covers everything from sprained joints and broken bones to amputations. A worker who loses an appendage will likely receive benefits longer than someone who breaks a toe.
The impact that the injury has on your work life
If you’re cleared to return to work, the amount of money you earn will affect your benefits. The closer to your original salary you get the greater the decline will be.
If the injury disables you
In some instances an injury causes life-long consequences and workers receive weekly payments for life. How drastically the injury affects your daily life factors into the decision.
How long your medical treatment lasts
Workers’ comp generally covers medical costs to treat and rehabilitate the injury. Medical bills should be covered until you achieve maximum medical improvement (MMI), meaning medical treatment can no longer improve your condition.
How to Make Sure You Receive Your Workers’ Comp Benefits
You can give yourself a better chance of qualifying for benefits by:
- Reporting the incident to your superior immediately. Without reporting that the injury happened at work you cannot form a valid claim.
- Schedule doctors appointments to get the care you need and a proper diagnosis of the injury. It’s important to see a physician whose name is provided by your employer.
- Don’t do anything that will aggravate the injury. Follow the medical advice given to you and do not deviate from your treatment.
If your employer tries denying your claim or you feel that your payments are not sufficient, contact the experienced attorneys at The Law Offices of Laura Lanzisera.
Georgia Workers’ Compensation Attorneys
If you’ve experienced a work-related injury, then you need a workers’ compensation attorney. Contact the Law Offices of Laura Lanzisera today for a free consultation, or give us a call at 404-991-5097.
Leave a ReplyWant to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!